• Langue Fr
  • Langue En
  • Langue Es

Naïve maison d'artistes

Igor Kamenz

Igor Kamenz

Classical - Pianiste

Pianist and conductor Igor Kamenz was born in 1968 on the river Amur in the Far East of Russia, close to the Chinese border. In 1975 he made his conducting debut with the Novosibirsk Philharmonic. This was followed by a series of concerts as pianist, soloist, and above all as conductor. He gave his first concert at the Kremlin as conductor of the Bolshoi Orchestra in 1977. A student of Vitaly Margulis and Sergiu Celibidache for many years, Igor Kamenz has been awarded eighteen first prizes in international piano competitions, presenting an extensive repertoire ranging from Couperin to Cage. His performances at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the Herkulessaal and Gasteig in Munich, the Konzerthaus Berlin, the Kennedy Center in Washington, the Salle Gaveau in Paris, the Alte Oper in Frankfurt, Symphony Hall in Birmingham and the Salzburg Mozarteum and his recital at the Moscow Conservatory were received with triumphal acclaim. Highlights of summer 2014 and the following season include Igor Kamenz’s New York recital debut at the Mostly Mozart Festival in Avery Fisher Hall. He will also perform at the Rheingau Music Festival and make his debut with the MDR Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra. He will open the concert season of Portland Piano International and play duo recitals with renowned soloists such as Arabella Steinbacher and Chad Hoopes. Igor Kamenz, ‘a giant of the keyboard’ (International Piano), does not merely conquer concert halls with ‘the finest nuances’ and ‘almost incomprehensible virtuosity’ (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung). Much more than this, he melds these qualities with ‘unbelievable beauty’ and ‘extraterrestrial musicality’ (FAZ) into a personal style that does not aim for virtuosity, but rather the means for seeking the message in the work he is performing.


composed by Domenico Scarlatti

Igor Kamenz - Igor Kamenz

Classical - 01/09/2014 - EAN 822186053997 - REF V5399 - ref V5399

listen to the album
  1. 1.  Sonate en ré majeur, K96 [Allegrissimo]
  2. 2.  Sonate en mi majeur, K381 [Allegro]
  3. 3.  Sonate en ré majeur, K119 [Allegro]
  4. 4.  Sonate en si mineur, K197 [Andante]
  5. 5.  Sonate en mi majeur, K135 [Allegro]
  6. 6.  Sonate en la majeur K322 [Allegro]
  7. 7.  Sonate en la mineur, K109 [Adagio]
  8. 8.  Sonate en ré mineur, K141 [Allegro]
  9. 9.  Sonate en ré majeur, K492 [Presto]
  10. 10.  Sonate en sol majeur, K146 [no indication]
  11. 11.  Sonate en ut mineur, K11 [Allegro]
  12. 12.  Sonate en fa majeur, K17 [Presto]
    • 13.  Sonate en si mineur, K27 [Allegro]
    • 14.  Sonate en si mineur, K87 [no indication]
    • 15.  Sonate en mi majeur, K380 [Andante commodo]
    • 16.  Sonate en la majeur, K209 [Allegro]
    • 17.  Sonate en la majeur, K101 [Allegro]
    • 18.  Sonate en ré majeur, K29 [Presto]
  13. see the 18 tracks
see an excerpt of the booklet

The biography of Igor Kamenz, one that virtually cries out to be filmed, is the story of a man for whom only music has ever counted. As a child prodigy, he gave widely admired piano recitals in the Soviet Union and conducted major orchestras at an early age. After his emigration to Germany in 1978, he maintained a career as a concert pianist.
In 2013, by an almost incredible combination of circumstances, a CD featuring his playing came into the hands of a major management company and of Naïve, who were immediately captivated by his talent and his musical personality: it was the start of a new chapter . . . Domenico Scarlatti, born in Naples in 1685, the same year as Bach and Handel, son of the celebrated opera composer Alessandro Scarlatti, a universe unique in musical history, the 555 harpsichord sonatas that have come down to us only in copy. In their variety, their inventiveness, their harmonic and timbral audacity, their vivacity, their impulsiveness, their fruitful tension between vibrant Mediterranean joie de vivre and sombre melancholy, they form miniature psychological studies that look forward far into the Romantic era, indeed the twentieth century. Igor Kamenz has assembled the sonatas played here on a modern concert grand into what he calls a ‘suite in eighteen movements’, whose ordering follows criteria related to the dramaturgy, key and content of the pieces.

Domenico Scarlatti 1685 - 1757


read more